MyRaspberryAndMe

Tinkering with Raspberry (and other things)

OSX El Capitan 10.11.4 and the CardDav Bug

I have been moving my OwnCloud instance to another provider and while I was at it, I migrated to nextCloud. Everything worked fine on all my devices. Even the newly acquired Windows Surface Book did not have any problem with syncing my contacts and calendars.

Well, for the Macs running El Capitan, things are different. There is a well known bug with the way El Capitan handles the carddav-protocol and Apple has not been able or willing to fix it. There’s loads of information about this on the internet but with 10.11.4 these workarounds stopped working (at least for me). After spending 2 hours editing .htaccess files and trying every possible permutation of servername and path in the “Internet Accounts” panel on my machine, I finally found a solution.

First, you still need redirects. My NextCloud installer did add them to .htaccess on its own. If you are running NextCloud or Owncloud in a subdirectory of your domain just add a .htaccess file at the webroot directory. The following lines did the trick (assuming the cloud installation is in subdirectory “MYDIR”):

RewriteEngine on
  RewriteRule ^\.well-known/carddav /MYDIR/remote.php/dav/ [R=301,L]
  RewriteRule ^\.well-known/caldav /MYDIR/remote.php/dav/ [R=301,L]

On to the System Settings -> Internet Accounts on the Mac.
Add an new CalDav-Account in the following manner:
Account Type: Advanced
User Name: USERNAME
Password: userpassword
Server Address: http://www.example.com
Server Path: /MYDIR/remote.php/carddav/principals/USERNAME/
Port: 443
Use SSL: X

With these settings I was able to start the Contacts app and after a few seconds all my contacts appeared. If you open this account via the Contacts app’s Settings menu you will not see the Server Path you added in the above steps. Do not try to edit this path.

Comments are closed.